Locally owned

Well Friday flew right by! I have been running since 8 a.m. this morning and I am about ready to crash! I did however get two great workouts in today as well as shop and eat at some great local places!

I was able to get a good run in this morning! I am trying a couple new things with my running routine to change things up.  As a swimmer for years and years I operated in % of exertion.  Meaning for example I would go 60% for a 100 then 90% for a 100 then back to 60%.  I am wanting to maintain this in my running, which is somewhat interesting and extremely helpful.  I get bored easily when I run so this is a great way to change it up. Here is what I did this morning.

1-4 minutes 40 %-warm up
5-9 minutes 60 %
10-14 minutes 80%
15-16 minutes 100% -all out sprint
17-21 minutes 60 %
22-26 minutes 80 %
27-30 minutes 100 %-all out sprint
31-35 minutes 40%-cool down

As I continue on, I am hoping to incorporate working on my VO2 Max.  VO2 Max is the maximum capacity that oxygen can be transported and used in the body, basically what a person’s maximum cardiorespitory endurance is.  I learned a lot about it in college and want to start applying it to my workouts.

Anywho…on to the rest of my day! I was able to go to a couple of great local places, Roots Market and Rudy’s Tacos:

Both of these places are to die for! Roots has a great selection of organic and all natural food…in the summer I buy the majority of my produce there you just can’t pass it up! It also has a great bulk section where I was able to get some ground flaxseed, pumpkin seeds, and dry roasted organic peanuts for my homemade granola I am making tomorrow 🙂 I then ventured over to Rudy’s Tacos which is a great locally owned place that only uses local ingredients in all of their food. For the last month and a half we have been eating there on Friday nights.  It is not only amazing food, but I am always surprised at how many people I know who come to eat there.  For example, I saw my 6th grade teacher, my junior high band teacher, and some ladies I used to swim with! I always get the same thing and it is amazing every time I eat it.  So fresh and so so so delicious!

Chicken Enchiladas with fresh lettuce, tomatoes, and onions 🙂 YUMMO! (yes I love Rachel Ray;-D) and of course you can’t forget the orange crush to go along with it!

Cool atmosphere…good friends…great food…can’t get much better than this!

Until tomorrow! Have a great evening!

~

A

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Locally owned

  1. Jessie says:

    Yeah Amanda! I am so proud of you for making your blog public! I can’t wait to read about all the wonderful things you are doing!

    PS-how can I follow your blog? I couldn’t find the link or button or whatever you call it!

  2. Kelsey Thien says:

    Your blog looks great! I like that information about your running plan. I may have to give it a try!

Leave a Reply

